I bought some apples at the supermarket and was wholly disappointed by their mediocrity. So, I decided to use them for baking and buy some better apples for munching at Whole Foods. (Or perhaps I can stop by an orchard on the way back from Thanksgiving next weekend).

Here is the result of my efforts:

I wanted to use a German recipe, because with those the sugar level is more palatable for me. With American recipes, I often have to cut the sugar in half or more, so there’s some experimentation necessary to get the right sweetness level. I found something that worked quite well on lecker.de.

Here is the original recipe: http://www.lecker.de/rezept/1793861/Wiener-Apfelkuchen.html

And below is the English translation with my own modifications in italics. In particular, I thinly sliced the apples rather than using quarters with scores on the top. It turned out rather delicious and I’ve decided to make it again very soon. Also, I think it would make a good base for other fruits. Could work for Pflaumenkuchen (plum cake) and other things as well.

Viennese Apple Cake (Wiener Apfelkuchen)

Ingredients for about 24 Pieces

  • Butter and Flour for the baking sheet
  • 1.75 kg apples – I used about half this amount, which I think was about 6 or 7 smallish apples. The amount I used was determined by how many slices I could fit. I packed it as much as possible, so I’d recommend just using however many you can
  • 3 Tablespoons lemon juice – I used the juice of one lemon and grated the rind into the dough also
  • 250 g soft butter
  • 200 g sugar
  • 1 pack of vanilla sugar – substituted 2 tsps vanilla extract
  • Salt
  • 5 medium eggs – Mine were large. The world didn’t end.
  • 250 g flour
  • 100 g starch
  • 1 pack of baking powder – used about 2 tsp
  • 50 g almond slices – Did not measure, just sprinkled on top
  • Confectioner’s sugar

1. Grease a baking sheet and sprinkle with flour. Peel and quarter the apples and cut out the core. Make cuts in the apple quarters. Sprinkle the apples with lemon juice.

Notes: The recipe refers to a “fettpfanne” which apparently is a baking sheet with a higher rim. Had no problems with a regular low rim, but probably best to avoid the type with hardly any rim at all. For the apples, I just sliced them thinly instead and it worked out very well. I also added some cinnamon when sprinkling with the lemon juice.

2. Heat the oven (~175°C / 350 F)
Combine butter, sugar, vanilla sugar and a pinch of salt. Beat with a mixer until creamy. Stir in the eggs one at a time. Mix together the flour, starch and baking powder. Sift over the wet mixture and mix together.

Notes: I just used a spoon to mix things together and it turned out fine, but the recipe recommends a mixer with the kind of things that look like whisks, or whatever setting is closest. Substituted 2 tsps vanilla for the vanilla sugar.

3. Spread the dough in the pan. Place the apples on the dough close to each other with the round side up. Sprinkle with almonds. Bake in hot oven 20 – 25 minutes. Let cool. Sprinkle with confectioner’s sugar. Works well with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream.

Notes: Using slices instead of quarters, I just lay them down overlapping as tightly packed as possible.

